Visit the Naim E-Store
Naim Audio Main Website    forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Naim Users  Hop To Forums  Padded Cell    NAT 01 Second Chance
Page 1 2 

Closed Topic Closed
Go
New
Find
Tools
  Login/Join 
Senior Member
Posted
Hi,

Can anyone help regarding Ebay second chances. I was runner up twice last week on both NAT01s that were on E-Bay. I have just received notification from E-Bay that the winners did not bid (or exist). I now have the contact details of the sellers and can have a NAT 01 at my bid price. Is this Kosher? If it is does anyone want a NAT 01 at the price I have been offered?
 
Posts: 2295 | Location: Poland and Spain | Registered: Fri 17 March 2006Report This Post
Senior Member
Posted Hide Post
Hi Frank,

Do you have a link to the original auction so that forum members can take a look and give an opinion ?

Joe
 
Posts: 1413 | Location: Hong Kong | Registered: Thu 29 April 2004Report This Post
Senior Member
Posted Hide Post
Take a very close look at the Ebay mail. Second chance offerings are mostly fakes and can lead to loadsa trouble.
 
Posts: 1193 | Registered: Fri 10 January 2003Report This Post
Senior Member
Posted Hide Post
Frank

This may sound silly, but is the offer from the original seller? If not, it's a scam. Even if it appears to be from the seller, someone may have hijacked the account. The only way to really know is to mail the seller, get their phone number, and talk to them.

There is a very nice NAT02 on ebay at the moment by the way....

Nigel
 
Posts: 6739 | Location: Where the streets are crammed with things, eager to be held... | Registered: Sun 27 April 2003Report This Post
Member
Posted Hide Post
We've had two customers who have been duped out of a lot of dosh from Ebay Second Chance offers.

The only way to know if they are legit or not is to send an email, via Ebay's system (through the seller's ID), to the ORIGINAL seller and ask them if they sent you a second chance offer.

When they respond, again through Ebay, the ID of the email should match the seller's ID.

You can never be completely sure unless you see the goods up front but at least this allows to contact the original seller because he/she is the only one that can offer a legitimate Second Chance Offer.

Most of these scammers watch hi-value auctions and gather the bidder's ID's which then receive seemingly legitimate sale offers but it's rarely from the original seller....


I've received a number of these over the last 2 years and they have all been phonies.

Cheers !

Joe
 
Posts: 98 | Location: Durham, NC USA | Registered: Sat 05 August 2000Report This Post
Senior Member
Posted Hide Post
Thanks for the advice, I will tread very carefully with this one. The problem I saw was that I have been offered both NAT 01's separately!!

I have e-mail contacts with the sellers and will make phone contact if possible. I will also ask E-Bay for their opinion.

The NAT02 might be an option??
 
Posts: 2295 | Location: Poland and Spain | Registered: Fri 17 March 2006Report This Post
Senior Member
Posted Hide Post
Frank

I won my SL2s on ebay, and within an hour received a second chance offer from someone else! Joe's advice is very sound. How much were the two 01s, out of interest?

Nigel
 
Posts: 6739 | Location: Where the streets are crammed with things, eager to be held... | Registered: Sun 27 April 2003Report This Post
Senior Member
Posted Hide Post
I assume you are talking about these two: http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=97...TRK%3AMEWA%3AIT&rd=1
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=97...TRK%3AMEDW%3AIT&rd=1

If it hasn't come through eBay's message system it's a scam. If the second-chance offer gives you an e-mail address to reply directly to, then it's a scam.

Message the sellers direct through ebay (send seller a message function) and ask if it's a genuine second-chance offer.

Remember - it's only a bargain if the goods turn up! If in doubt walk away and save your Euros for another day, NAT01s turn up fairly regularly so there will always be another.

Steve.
 
Posts: 771 | Location: Dorset with its wonderful Bulbarrow Hill | Registered: Wed 19 November 2003Report This Post
Senior Member
Posted Hide Post
Frank, you were nowhere near being the second highest bidder in the first auction that Steve linked to, although you were in the second auction. Please follow the advice the others have given and make sure you contact the sellers via Ebay. I'm pretty sure you're being scammed on the first one, and you may well be on the second one.
 
Posts: 1193 | Registered: Fri 10 January 2003Report This Post
Senior Member
Posted Hide Post
Yes these are the ones.

I was asked 800 for the chrome bumper and 900 for the Olive. The winner of the Olive one is not the one quoted in the E-Mail from E-bay so a scam. There was a request to e-mail the seller of the other and so this seems to be the case as well. I await a response from the genuine seller who I contacted via the e- bay system.

Thanks for the sound advice (I have heared of them somewhere).
 
Posts: 2295 | Location: Poland and Spain | Registered: Fri 17 March 2006Report This Post
1st Timer
Posted Hide Post
Hi Frank,

I can say without a shadow of doubt that it is a scam. I'm sorry, but I have to admit that I bought the second Nat01. I collected it yesterday and it is sitting in my lounge sounding grand. Keep trying. It is a remarkable piece of kit.

Good luck

Howard
 
Posts: 2 | Registered: Sun 08 January 2006Report This Post
Senior Member
Posted Hide Post
OK,

Thanks again. Must be patient,
 
Posts: 2295 | Location: Poland and Spain | Registered: Fri 17 March 2006Report This Post
Member
Posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by hungryhalibut:

There is a very nice NAT02 on ebay at the moment by the way....

Nigel


Careful !!

Mark
 
Posts: 103 | Location: Lincolnshire | Registered: Sun 25 September 2005Report This Post
Senior Member
Posted Hide Post
Frank

As well as ebay, it's worth looking at Pink Fish and UK dealers' sites. I bought a NAT01 this week from a dealer for £950, virtually perfect, olive, with boxes, and brand new snaic and interconnect, and risk-free too.

Nigel
 
Posts: 6739 | Location: Where the streets are crammed with things, eager to be held... | Registered: Sun 27 April 2003Report This Post
Senior Member
Posted Hide Post
Thanks for the advice. I can be a little patient but how did the NAT02 compare to NAT01??

I am not in UK and maybe the quality of programmes might not be BBC standard.
 
Posts: 2295 | Location: Poland and Spain | Registered: Fri 17 March 2006Report This Post
Senior Member
Posted Hide Post
Frank

It was only after hearing the 01 that I realised how the 02 could be improved upon. The 01 is simply more real. But then the 01 is twice the price of the 02 so should be better.

Nigel
 
Posts: 6739 | Location: Where the streets are crammed with things, eager to be held... | Registered: Sun 27 April 2003Report This Post
Senior Member
Posted Hide Post
Thanks a lot Nigel, but i'm going for a Supercap for a 82 in the next months.
Putting money together!
Winker
 
Posts: 8280 | Location: Right here on the sofa, baby! | Registered: Wed 19 January 2005Report This Post
Senior Member
Posted Hide Post
quote:
i'm going for a Supercap for a 82


That's a good thing and a bad thing too!! Good - in that it will sound great, and bad - in that you will want a 52 or 252. That's what happened when I added a supercap to my 82. Maybe you have more willpower.

Nigel
 
Posts: 6739 | Location: Where the streets are crammed with things, eager to be held... | Registered: Sun 27 April 2003Report This Post
Senior Member
Posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by hungryhalibut:
bad - in that you will want a 52 or 252.



Hi Nigel!
I think that i'll keep the 82 + Hicap + Napcs and the 180, for the moment.
I would like to reach a Supercap and a 250, but i will take months.
Money is the dark side of dreams!

Cheers
Gianluigi
 
Posts: 8280 | Location: Right here on the sofa, baby! | Registered: Wed 19 January 2005Report This Post
Senior Member
Posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Joe Rosovitz:
The only way to know if they are legit or not is to send an email, via Ebay's system (through the seller's ID), to the ORIGINAL seller and ask them if they sent you a second chance offer.

When they respond, again through Ebay, the ID of the email should match the seller's ID.



Isn't there also a problem where genuine accounts have bene hijacked?

If so, wouldn't that imply that these could be redirected, also?

cheers, Martin
 
Posts: 4700 | Location: England | Registered: Mon 31 July 2000Report This Post
  Powered by Social Strata Page 1 2  

Closed Topic Closed

Naim Audio Main Website    forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Naim Users  Hop To Forums  Padded Cell    NAT 01 Second Chance

© Naim Audio Ltd, 2006.