Naim App Query

Posted by: AlanJ on 12 November 2018

I’m relatively new to streaming and use of the Naim app and have a query related to the way the app works.

I am running Asset UpNp on windows 10 currently (not ideal, I know, but have not yet purchased a NAS).

When I fire up the Naim app on iPhone or iPad I find there is a wait of anything up to 1min before the Asset UpNp servers are detected. If I fire up on both devices (iPad and iPhone) they both discover the servers simultaneously.

The issue also applies if I’m playing music and the iPhone or iPad locks (currently I have them set to do so after 2mins) due to not being used.

The question is, is this normal behaviour ?

I have traced using Wireshark and can see that the iPhone/iPad do indeed wait and do very little until the Windows server multi casts SSDP advertisements. This it does at one minute intervals. After that there is a flurry of TCP/UDP connections and then the servers are visible.

Does the Naim app not query for the available servers ? Is the SSDP advertisement interval configurable ?

Any help or observations are greatly appreciated.

Posted on: 12 November 2018 by Adam Zielinski

It’s not the app, it’s your WINDOWS machine that is causing it. You’ve answered your question anyhow by checking the broadcasts already

We’ve tested the new app under the Beta programme and the discovery of servers and streamers is practically instantenous. Even in cases of server or streamer shutdowns, as soon as they were re-started and appeared on the network, the app picked them up in the same moment, without any propmpts.

Posted on: 12 November 2018 by AlanJ

Adam... thanks for your response.

So given the Naim app just waits for the SSDP adverisements (it’s clear from the trace it does pretty much nothing until it see’s the advertisements) the only solution would be to increase the frequency of advertisements. From my research i can’t find how to do this.