Please allow me to introduce myself ...

Posted by: fred simon on 28 August 2000

Forgive the shameless self-promotion to follow. I thought I'd add a bit more information about myself and the other musicians on my new album, "Dreamhouse," especially for those who are not familiar with my previous work. This information is taken from the biographies printed in the liner booklet; I hope it's cool with Anna that I'm posting it (insert emoticon here).

Let me just say from the start that I'm really excited about my association with NAIM, and hope that it is a long lived and fruitful one. I'm grateful to Ken Christianson and everyone at NAIM for giving me the opportunity to share my music with an astute audience.

I've been making music for nearly thirty years, composing for records, live performance, film, dance, and television, with instrumentation ranging from solo piano to symphonic orchestra. My recorded work includes four albums of original music under my name: "Short Story" and "Time and the River" (Quaver), "Usually/Always" (Windham Hill), and "Open Book" (Columbia); three albums with the Simon and Bard Group: "Musaic," "Tear It Up," and "The Enormous Radio" (Flying Fish); as well as "Twilight" (NorthWord Press) [recently reissued as "Candlelight" on NorthSound Music Group], a collaboration with reed player Paul McCandless and guitarist Teja Bell; "The Music of the Beach Boys" (NorthSound Music Group), a record of solo piano arrangements of Brian Wilson songs; and numerous appearances on samplers released by Windham Hill, Columbia, Narada, Private Music, Imaginary Road, and NorthSound Music Group.