How to get started?

Posted by: Flame on 28 September 2008

Hi all;

I'm new to this distributed audio business and I'm looking for help. For starters I intend to use the digital output from my PS3 which is decoded by the DAC within my NAD receiver. The signal is then output as pre-out to my 122x and then will run routinely down the chain. If we all admit that this setup won't give the best results it is what I have to start off with.

Question.... What file formats should I be downloading? What resolution should I consider the minimum and maximum to look at? I found a few sites that sell audiophile downloads but I'm more interested in popular music. Any advice? Oh an BTW, iTunes doesn't work in my country of residence Frown

Regards and thanks...
Posted on: 29 September 2008 by garyi
Why don't you convert some of your cds first? Distributed audio does not in itself mea you have to purchase downloads.
Posted on: 30 September 2008 by pcstockton
The Beresford DAC is a great place to start. For about $200 including shipping you cant go wrong.

I am not exactly following what you are doing with your PS3... or the NAD.

But in any event, take the signal directly from your PC/Mac using a USB-to-toslink converter. Connect that to the DAC, and then to the 122 with a decent RCA-to-DIN cable.

My shopping list for you:

Hardware:
- Beresford DAC ($200)
- Chord Co, Crimson or Crysalis (RCA-to-DIN) ($100)
- M-Audio Transit- USB converter($70)
- Basic Toslink Cable ($20)

For under $400 you are up and running.

Then you will need to consider storage options. If you are PC and have an extra drive slot, get a 1TB internal drive from Seagate (max $200). Or any Seagate external drive. They are very quiet.

Software:
Download Foobar2000 for a player. And rip your CDs with EAC (Exact Audio Copy). Both are available for FREE online.

If you are using Mac, just use Itunes for everything i suppose. OR buy XLD for ripping and use Play (free) as a player.

Guide: