2 boxes vs. 5

Posted by: Huwge on 12 October 2005

I am a complete novice when it comes to Home Theatre. Is it possible to enjoy new DVDs in a two speaker system? If so, how?

At the moment we have a Loewe Xelos A26 and an old Sony DVD player. I had attempted to connect the DVD to my 282 but the resultant hum affected normal listening, plus normal TV is perfectly OK through TV speakers.

When watching the new Gladiator DVD the other evening, whilst visually spectacular the voices were overwhelmed by the music. It was not a pleasant experience. Do have to resign myself to limited DVD viewing in the future or is it possible to improve the auditory experience without adding 3 more boxes? BTW - the latter is not an option. Would a newer model DVD help, decoder (even if only using 2 channels) ... I am very ignorant so all help gratefully received

Another reason for the question is that my parents want to upgrade their HiFi and TV, adding DVD but would prefer a two speaker solution as well

Cheers
Huw
Posted on: 12 October 2005 by Greggles
I assume you are connecting the Sony to the 202 via two phonos? Does the DVD player have internal DD/DTS conversion and 6 phono multichannel output? I ask this because if the player is outputting 6 channel audio and you are only using two of them, it can sound very strange/distorted. If this is the case, there should be a menu option on the player to down convert to two channel output. It will probably appear as "Bitstream+2ch" or similar
Posted on: 12 October 2005 by Huwge
Thanks Greg, there is indeed a screen menu that allows 2 channel mode but it doesn't seem to help much Confused
Posted on: 12 October 2005 by Frank Abela
Huwge,