The naimnet tuner more information?

Posted by: Claus-Thoegersen on 30 December 2007

In the latest newsletter there is a very short sentence about a tuner wich will be part of the Naimnet launch.
network-equipped multiple DAB/FM tuner.

Does this mean that we will see a tuner that can play internet radio?

Even just with a dab and fm tuner this could be very interesting, depending on how much naimnet that is in there also. I understand that the tuner must have the eithernet interface, but I hope it will more or less be an updated tuner, and leave all the digital processing to the other ns servers, so cost can be as low as possible.

Finally any ideas about the price?
Posted on: 30 December 2007 by Skip
I'm no expert, but internet radio seems pretty low-fidelity to my ears. Not sure why I would want to spend the money on a Naim-level tuner for it. I love the musical variety and the price, but the sound is nothing special over the computer based internet resources I have heard.
Posted on: 30 December 2007 by Manu
Skip is right, Internet radio is low-fi. In my previous life i have been involved in the development of Codecs RealPlayer (among others) is using, it was an achivement in the compression ratio (8 to 13Kbps), but nothing to do with HIFI.

An no the Naim-Net tuner won't be able to catch Internet Radio, but your computer will be and able to send it to a Netstreams network. So playable by a Naim room amplifier.
Posted on: 31 December 2007 by rupert bear
It may be lo-fi in some respects, but it does offer a huge range of great programming, e.g. on the US public service stations, not available otherwise. Sound is definitely better than the DAB standard foisted on UK consumers. So it would be a neat arrangement for any network device to include it.
Posted on: 01 January 2008 by Claus-Thoegersen
quote:
Originally posted by Manu: