Bluetooth

Posted by: garyi on 08 November 2003

Well thanks to a free upgrade I now have a Sony Ericsson T something or other with bluetooth.

To celebrate its freeness I bought a blue tooth adaptor for the mac.

Amazing, it actually works. However it took some doing, I am new to this technology so thought it would simply be a case of getting near the mac and everything working.

However I have to 'pair' devices and such. With much faffing its all worked, but do I have to do that every single time, because if so plugging a USB cord in would be much quicker!

On the same vein, it asks if I want to use the blueetooth to dial up to the web, presumably through the mac. Is there not a way to use my broadband connection with the Sony so I can browse the web for 'free' accepting of course that I pay for the broadband?

On a not really related note I also got a PCI card, four port USB2 and its fitted fine. The mac can 'see' it but it don't work, no devises work through it.

As the mac can see it there I was guessing all should be fine, does anyone know what could be wrong?

cheers
Posted on: 08 November 2003 by garyi
Simply stunning!

It syncs with my calenders, addresses, everything. This is going to be far more useful than I imagined.
Posted on: 08 November 2003 by Roy T
Garyi,
Bluetooth is so yesterday, with this in one ear and a Babelfish in the other what more do you need?

Roy

PS. just at how useful a babelfish can be.

[This message was edited by Roy T on SATURDAY 08 November 2003 at 17:36.]

[This message was edited by Roy T on SATURDAY 08 November 2003 at 17:37.]
I likes the look of talking to someone through your finger.

Mind you I think people look crazy when they talk into hands free!
Posted on: 08 November 2003 by ErikL
Garyi, did you select "Add to paired devices" on your phone when you finished the discovery, passkey, etc processes?

(I haven't paired devices since a S-E T68i about 1 year ago, so the menu options may have changed.)