Can anybody advise on speeding fines?

Posted by: TomK on 06 December 2003

For the second time in 6 months my wife has been caught by speed cameras. Exactly the same place and speed (41 in a 30 limit). She was fined £60 last time. Does anybody have any idea what she should expect this time? She argues with a perfectly straight face that she can't be expected to drive and watch for speed limit signs at the same time! Needless to say things are a bit tense in the house at the moment.
Posted on: 06 December 2003 by Tony Lockhart
It should be roughly the same fine etc. as last time, assuming that the conditions were similar.
Funny how people come up with lame excuses for speeding. I was a driving instructor many moons ago, and brand new drivers had no trouble coping with all their new skills, picking up new ones AND driving at or near the speed limit!
I think £60 is the standard fixed penalty and it will only be more if it goes to court....unlikely if it didn't first time round.
Tony
Posted on: 06 December 2003 by andy c
Hi tom,
does she only have the 3 points on her licence imposed for the origial speeding offence?
If so she can be dealt with as before but now you may find its going to impact on your car insurance.
Also, has she held a full licence for at least two years. If so you are ok, but if not she will face having her licence revoked back to a provisional - therefore needing to retake her test.
If you contest the issue you may end up with more points/more fine but that is down to the court - I don't know how they work in Scotland.
Hope this helps a little.
Posted on: 06 December 2003 by Mick P
Chaps

If you are caught on camera it is a £60.00 fine plus 3 points. If you argue in court and loose, expect to pay £150.00 plus costs plus points.

If you are stopped by a police car, it is a £60,00 fine plus 3 points. However, if you pay within 14 days, you get let off with £30.00.