DAC + Headphone Amp

Posted by: Obsessed1 on 20 July 2008

Just picked up a pair of AKG 701s on the cheap, and a Wadia iTransport (digital out from an iPod) also is on order.

The perfect foil to these would be a DAC and headphone amp combined. I'm new to the world of headphones, and my "distributed audio" experience is limited to iTunes on the Mac and a Sonos system, and the ipod into Wadia when it gets here. (So go easy on me.)

Anyway, I'm looking for an affordable dac plus headphone amp combination. The three that I am aware of are the Benchmark DAC, Lavry DA10 and NuForce iCon. Has anyone tried some or all of these? Are there others that I should consider?

Oh yes and I keep hearing rumours of a Naim DAC, too. I doubt it will come bundled with a headphone amp, tho.

All suggestions will be greatly appreciated.
Posted on: 21 July 2008 by EmCee
Beresford TC-7510 -

I have two of these, one fed by computer into Audiolab 8000s & 8000P into Ruark Talisman II, the second one fed by computer and Philips DVD Player, into NAC282 NAP250.2 HiCap into Allaes.

The Naim setup sounds wonderful with a variety of sources (including the CDX2 / XPS2 combo which is very rarely used) The Audiolab setup sounding very good as the output for multimedia type stuff (wife friendly living room).

I am sure there are better DAC out there, however unlikely to be as good value.

EmCee
Posted on: 21 July 2008 by pcstockton
Obsessed,
Just about every DAC out there has a headphone pre and volume pot nowadays.

The Beresford is about $190. But the headphone pre is allegedly a little noisy.
Posted on: 21 July 2008 by PMR
quote:
Originally posted by Obsessed1:
Just picked up a pair of AKG 701s on the cheap, and a Wadia iTransport (digital out from an iPod) also is on order.