AV Tuning

Posted by: Mr Underhill on 11 June 2015

With the help of a friend I have been tuning my system and so thought I would post some notes.

I have made a few changes over the last year:

1. New Audio Physic Centre (tonally matches my Living Voice mains);

2. Focal Dome rears;

3. MJ Acoustics Pro 50 sub for the Domes;

4. Transferred my REL Strata III from the mains to the centre.

New Centre

I find tonal changes very distracting, great relief to find a matching centre - great deal of luck!

Focal Domes

I have been using my Linn Kans for MANY years as my rears, but they are not really suited to this, and positionally are not ideal. The domes are very flexible in terms of placement.

MJ Acoustics Pro 50

Great little sub, which sits behind my chair almost opposite the REL. Initially connected with just the Hi-Level in support of the Domes. I later also plugged in the LFE, which I later removed.

REL Moved to support the AP Centre

Good suggestion from my friend. The LV go down to 25Hz anyway. The Audio Physic cuts off at 40Hz.

Oppo 105D

Set all the speakers to FULL, which also removes a -10db step from the sub output.

My friend used a spectrum analyser on his phone plus a selection of well known film passages. The end result sounded great, but I have been doing further tuning since, mainly winding back the sub output! Reminds me of when I first bought the REL.

I downloaded and converted a selection of files to assist with the tuning, including stepped bass sweeps from 200Hz down to 5Hz and the DTS HD-Audio tests.

Warning: If you choose to download test files from YouTube be aware that whatever the poster describes them as YT do a further conversion, for instance reducing 5.1 to stereo.

I loaded up Android 'Spectrum Analyse', which I used in conjunction with the test files.