Your 4 favourite ECM albums.

Posted by: Sloop John B on 11 November 2017

Now that ECM is streaming a lot of its content, what are four favourite ECM albums? 

These are mine (currently)

.sjb

Posted on: 11 November 2017 by Haim Ronen

It will be interesting to see the selections of Adrian who owns the complete ECM catalog.

Not main stream albums but every rotation is quite memorable:

Posted on: 11 November 2017 by seakayaker

1. Jon Balke - Siwan John Blake - Siwan

2. Jakob Bro - Gefion Jakob Bro - Gefion

3. Anouar Brahem - The Astounding Eyes of Rita Anouar Brahem - The Astounding Eyes of Rita

4. Eberhard Weber - Colours Eberhard Weber - Colours (this is cheating since there are 3 albums which make up colors)

Since I am only beginning to explore the ECM catalogue this list will certainly change...... (I did only select albums that I have purchased)

Posted on: 11 November 2017 by Lontano
Haim Ronen posted:

It will be interesting to see the selections of Adrian who owns the complete ECM catalog.

Well, 4/1500 or somewhere near that is tough to choose but here are four I rather like...

and 4 more, apologies...

Lontano posted:
Haim Ronen posted:

Well, 4/1500 or somewhere near that is tough to choose but here are four I rather like...

That's not bad, Adrian. You can select four different albums every day and still never repeat yourself for over a year. Do you know what are the all time 10 top selling ECM albums or should we ask Manfred?

I'd ask him Haim. But I'd say its a pretty safe bet that near the top are Keith Jarrett Koln Concert and Jan Garbarek/Hilliard Ensemble Officium 

This similar thread hasn't gone very far in 2008:

https://forums.naimaudio.com/topic/top-10-ecm-records

Posted on: 11 November 2017 by Corry

Hard to limit it to 4, but here goes, in no particular order:

Eberhard Weber Yellow Fields
Jan Garbarek / Bobo Stenson Quartet Dansere
David Holland Quartet Conference of the Birds
Pat Metheny Bright Size Life