Mess(iaen)

Posted by: Ardbeg10y on 13 February 2018

Hi

As a follow up on the chat I had with Max in the Hifi Corner and a friendly suggestion to move the conversation to the Music Corner, I'd like to share the following experience with you.

It was a long time ago that I visited the city of Fulda in Germany and its very old St. Michael's Church. This church has an interesting Crypt and a young guy was studying some weird music there on the small organ. I recognized the composer of the music and checked out which piece it was. It was Apparition de l'Eglise Eternelle by Messiaen.

I studied the work in my first year and never really got the piece of music and its composer. The teacher I had did explain the theory of Messiaens modes, but given the quite conservative nature of the organ class, the theological / esthetical dimention remained closed for me. I do remember that I mentioned / questioned the teacher that the Messiaens modes could be an explaination for the construction of a music, but to me it sounded like a delirium. Offended eyes by some young fellows. How could I say that?

But I never really got Messiaen.

So, on Sunday 11/2 the theme in the mass was 'sustainability' (I'm part of a quite open / liberal / non-dogmatic church community) - therefore I programmed 'Apparition de l'Eglise Eternelle' as musica sub communione. For those amongst us who don't know what it is: when the people near the end of the service go to the altar to receive bread and wine to commemorate Crist, the organist plays a piece of suitable music.

I have played the music as good as I could and really enjoyed it. You need to understand that the music goes really, really loud. There is no listening, the music is imposed on the people.