Vinyl pops and crackles

Posted by: dolorem on 22 July 2018

hi all

firstl loving these forums and have to admit this is the first on line community I’ve truely engaged with.

I’m doing some research on vinyl in the hope of writing a guide to how to use it properly. I find it fascinating at a very technical level that so much information can be pulled out of a groove in a piece of plastic. I’m an engineer and as such so much just doesn’t add up particularly the difference between original pressings and re issues. Early original pressings  just sound better have more attack presence and imaging than later reissues. Even when reissued by bands that know production. Eg The great gig in the sky by pink Floyd. Why why why.  Are reissue records made differently,  surely they have the original tape just cut a new master and press a new record. 

Now the main question I have. Im interested in vinyl restoration. One is it possible and two how. A guy in a yellow suit on YouTube plays a record heavily worn. He then washes it it soapy water- not a fan by the way- it has reduced crackle and pop. Then he wipes it with a petrol based lubricant-WD40 ouch hello desolved plastic wrecked stylus etc etc . However. He demonstrates significant noise reduction. So I tried it on a  very damaged record and old spare stylus. It worked. So I started thinking what are the mechanics.

i then started on the chemistry a lubricant that leaves no deposit behind and would have no detrimental effect on vinyl and no detrimental effect on stylus construction 

silicon and water based lubricant both work. Hello sex shop. I won’t tell you about the raised eye brow I got when I spoke to the very helpful women at Max Black in Sydney. Luckily she has lots of old records and got right into it we both laughed and exchanged numbers. 

Thoughts 

Posted on: 22 July 2018 by Skip