HS2

Posted by: Jonners on 08 August 2018

I'm a newbie to this Forum so apologies if this has been done to death already but "HS2 - discuss"

White elephant or just what we've all been waiting for?

Posted on: 08 August 2018 by Kevin-W

Complete waste of money. A vanity project.

Posted on: 08 August 2018 by dave marshall

100% wot Kevin sed.

Quite apart from the questionable projected savings in journey times, recent reports regarding compulsory purchase of properties, where the sellers have still not been paid, and are suffering financial hardship, make for troubled reading.

HS2, together with the recent agreement to purchase one hundred and thirty eight F-35  combat aircraft, at £92 million a pop, makes one despair at how our money is being spent. 

Posted on: 08 August 2018 by ChrisSU

Given the poor state of the railways generally in the UK, it is clear that they could have benefitted greatly from investment in maintenance. This would have bought advantages to far more people than HS2 ever could, without decimating another huge swathe of countryside. An F-35 would be more fun, though!

Posted on: 08 August 2018 by dave marshall
ChrisSU posted:

Given the poor state of the railways generally in the UK, it is clear that they could have benefitted greatly from investment in maintenance. This would have bought advantages to far more people than HS2 ever could, without decimating another huge swathe of countryside. An F-35 would be more fun, though!

Tough decision, Chez Dave ................ my own personal F-35, or a Naim ND555? 

Posted on: 08 August 2018 by Don Atkinson

Dave,