Smart TV without Internet?

Posted by: jfritzen on 03 September 2018

Hi,

I'm considering to buy a new TV, an OLED from LG. I have no experience with Smart TVs yet. However, I've read that some Smart TVs were known to spy on their users, and so I would like to block its access to the Internet in the router.

Has anyone done this? Will a Smart TV typically complain incessantly that it can't reach the Internet? Or will it behave, and work as a Dumb TV?

KR

Jochen

Posted on: 03 September 2018 by Finkfan

I have a new’ish’ Samsung tv. It’s not connected to the internet as it has no need to be. I told it I’d use a wired connection. Set it up and then unplugged it from the network. No complaints from the tv and it does work without issues as a ‘dumb tv’. 

Posted on: 04 September 2018 by robgr

You won't be able to use any apps (catch up TV, YouTube etc.) and updating will be a PITA. The issue of spying was Samsung smart TVs which sent unencrypted voice recognition data across internet (now fixed) but the vulnerability was hard to exploit anyway.

Posted on: 04 September 2018 by Mike-B

I've been using my Sony on internet & if someone is really,  that really,  interested in spying on me,  go ahead,  am I bovver'd,  am I paranoid ??    At best it'll be nothing more than tracking your watching habits & maybe suggest some progs that might interest you,  just like all your internet services & apps do.

Posted on: 04 September 2018 by jfritzen
robgr posted:

You won't be able to use any apps (catch up TV, YouTube etc.) and updating will be a PITA.

I would use a dedicated box for streaming, one that I potentially trust more regarding privacy.

Regarding updates: a.) updates are not so essential to me if it's not connected to the Internet anyway (the old Panasonic never got one) and b.) I could open the firewall specifically for that purpose.

Posted on: 04 September 2018 by jfritzen
Finkfan posted: