Shaving...as a hobby

Posted by: Paper Plane on 02 October 2018

I have been shaving for over 50 years, I was a late starter, and had always seen it as a necessary chore, something that just had to be done. I have used electrics, disposables, multiblades and even, when between wives, grown a beard.

Then I read an article in The Grauniad about safety razors. Mrs Plane presented me with a basic Wilkinson Sword Double Edge razor and blades and I tried it. It was an epiphany, this was the best shave I had ever had. From then on I was hooked.

At first it was just a sample pack of different blades and, believe me, they are different. This led me to join a shaving Forum which, in turn, introduced met to a whole world of blades, balms, brushes and beard mapping. I have bought a brush, a stainless steel razor, more blades and a used blade bank (A tin wiv a slot in it really). I have even been sent free samples of shaving cream and balms to try. The daily shave has become a joy, a thing of pleasure and fulfilment, nay, even a ritual.

Interestingly, there are parallels with hi-fi. You start with the basics and then it's that eternal yellow brick road of upgrades to some imaginary nirvana. Mind you, these are cheaper. Serious hardware can be bought for the price some people pay for rare or hard-to-get albums. Brush choice is as variable as cable choice, blades as cartridges.

So tomorrow morning I will be taking my Keith Jagger brush and shaving cream, Rockwell 2C razor, Rockwell blade and one of a selection of balms for my morning enjoyment. Then another day, I might swap the Rockwell blade for a Voskhod or a Personna, or a Gillette, or a… You get the picture.

steve

Posted on: 02 October 2018 by Mike Hughes

Congratulations on the most vaguely disturbing post of the day.

Posted on: 02 October 2018 by Hook