Core, Innuos or NAS?

Posted by: Stover on 21 November 2018

Is there something new to Core, regarding rip and metadata handling? I can get one at a fair ex dem price. I have quite a lot of classical cd boxes. 

Any experience with Innous with the same metadata handling in mind?

So far I’m looking at installing minimserver to my NAS and continue using DBpoweramp. 

Thanks, Stover

Posted on: 21 November 2018 by Gazza

If you are currently happy using the NAS, why change, do the minimServer change? I have no experience of Innuous, but I am pleased with my Core, for ease of use and SQ. However, it’s ability with classical has been questioned by some. If you are convinced you need a change why not take a bunch of classical cd,s to the dealer and try on his ex dem Core, and the Innuous if he has one. If it does not handle the metadata as you would like, I think you then have your answer.

Posted on: 21 November 2018 by hifi-dog

The innuos will act as a Roon server if that appeals.....

Posted on: 21 November 2018 by ChrisSU
Stover posted:

Is there something new to Core, regarding rip and metadata handling? I can get one at a fair ex dem price. I have quite a lot of classical cd boxes. 

Any experience with Innous with the same metadata handling in mind?

So far I’m looking at installing minimserver to my NAS and continue using DBpoweramp. 

Thanks, Stover

The Core hasn’t really moved on much from the Unitiserve when it comes to metadata, so you are probably going to be happier with DBpoweramp and Minimserver. I do quite like the Innuos servers, but I haven’t investigated their metadata handling enough to form an opinion. 

Roon is another option you could consider. You can do the free trial, possibly on hardware that you already own, before deciding if it’s worth the quite large cost. 

Posted on: 21 November 2018 by Innocent Bystander