Plex views

Posted by: SpyderTracks on 06 December 2018

Hi All

I'm new to the forum but have been avidly reading.

I'm quite new to decent audio also, recently got my first record deck and have it paired with a Naim Muso with my media server also running through it. I'm very happy with the setup.

I've noticed a lot of people on here poo-pooing Plex and just wanted to get people's opinions...

Whilst I completely agree that historically, Plex music performance was a secondary consideration they never really focussed on, they've made some major improvements recently, now including Tidal natively within the player as well as playback enhancement, and various other things. I wasn't sure if people here appreciated the new potential of the platform and thought I'd share it.

This is the latest from the Plex Pass subscribers channel:

We want you to have the dopest music experience imaginable! So we've improved the audio player in iOS and Android with direct play for FLAC, ALAC, MP3, AAC, APE, and MPC, as well as improved best-in-class transcodes for low-bandwidth scenarios. We've also added seamless transitions between tracks, soft pauses, and advanced hybrid caching (a fancy way of saying buffering ahead for smoother playback). Put on those headphones and get ready to rock!

In case you were off the grid and didn't hear, we also announced the TIDAL x Plex revolution last week and our users are loving it! Whether you are combining TIDAL's 60 million+ songs and videos with your own personal music collection, or just streaming TIDAL**, Plex gives you the most flexible and complete streaming music experience out there. Plex Pass users get a monthly discount on TIDAL** and more, including loudness leveling, sweet fades, silence compression, and voice boost.

I'm obviously a huge fan and have just upped my data subscription so that I can stream on the go and have to say, it's worth giving it a go these days. Most of my personal Plex server is in Flac.