New to Naim

Posted by: Mac_1 on 23 December 2018

This is my first post and looking at some of the discussions / threads so far i’m in way over my head what with cable dressing, vibration, harmonics etc. I just want to listen to good music and get those goose bumps when I hear great quality sound (within my price point).

I’m fairly new to Naim also and can only list one piece of equipment, a MuSo however the bug has bitten me.

I auditioned a Nova in the week with some Spendor D7’s, PMC 25.24’s and finally with a pair of PMC 25.26’s.  Nothing could have prepared me for hearing the Nova through quality speakers for the first time.  I know a lot of you on here will have far superior systems however I was actually shocked by the quality of sound.  Before the audition I had set my heart on the Spendor’s and for me they had the edge over the 25.24’s however I made the mistake of listening to the 25.26’s and they were better again.  I do listen to a lot of female vocalists so maybe the dedicated mid helped there...

Now for the problem, the room.  The room is 4.3M wide and 6.4M long (speakers on the short brick wall) and wait for it, it’s a conservatory!  The floor will be ceramic tiled, the roof is 300mm thick insulated and plastered (warm roof style) 2.1M high tapering up to over 3M high with glass to the front and one side. The floor is going in atm so should be useable by summer (the screed takes 2.5 months to dry) so i’m still a fair way off auditioning at home.

Any advice of any description, anyone with a similar room, similar equipment, views in general?

Thanks in advance

Posted on: 24 December 2018 by Gazza

When I auditioned my Nova I thought I would be ending up with Kudos super  20,s. but came away with the PMC 25.26. They seem to be well suited together. I also tried the Russell K 120 and 150, but they like the Kudos mentioned did,not seem to match with the Nova to my ears.