When people talk about different elements

Posted by: Popeye on 24 December 2018

When people ask questions Regarding upgrades, I have noticed a common response is what elements are you lacking and what you want to enhance. 

Are certain components then know to give specific enhancements to certain areas one feels they are lacking in. 

I.e a better source brings XYZ to the party and a better Preamp will bring better something else. 

Is it possible to elaborate on this?

Posted on: 24 December 2018 by Guinnless

Source first is still a good guide if the system is pretty balanced as your looks to be.  I'm not an expert though.

Posted on: 24 December 2018 by Popeye
Guinnless posted:

Source first is still a good guide if the system is pretty balanced as your looks to be.  I'm not an expert though.

Thanks, not what I was meaning tho and not looking to change anything with my system. 

Like if a person was seeking better separation between instruments or maybe seeking better depth/layered sound imaging, would certain components or cables be advised?

obviously this is just one example. 

Posted on: 24 December 2018 by Guinnless

I see.  It's a very "hifi" question you are asking. 

It depends very much of what the system is that you have so I don't think there is a single answer. Change source, amp, speakers would all be perfectly valid responses.

Posted on: 24 December 2018 by Svetty

So much of appreciation of music is subjective so that this isn't an easy question. Room and speakers have an effect on tone and character in a way that the electronics don't. Lowering the noise floor is often the way to 'improve' the sound IMO and this is where better power supplies helps most IME. 

If the speakers are a more difficult load then a power-amp upgrade is often indicated....

Posted on: 24 December 2018 by Jonners
Popeye posted:
Guinnless posted:

Thanks, not what I was meaning tho and not looking to change anything with my system.