PMC twenty5.24 or ATC SCM40 v2

Posted by: scubafink on 02 January 2019

Hi all,

I had the chance to audition both the PMC twenty5.24 and the ATC SCM40 v2 at various dealerships but no home demo allowed 

My kit is the NDX/282/HiCap DR/250.2. 

I really enjoyed the PMCs, extremely musical and great with rock music and acoustic vocals.

The ATCs we’re equally enjoyable but less so than the PMC to my ears. The PMCs had better bass drive I felt and a little faster rhythmically.

Has anyone compared these speakers with Naim kit like the 250.2?

Posted on: 02 January 2019 by thebigfredc

Hi,

I ran PMC 24s with the same system as yours (except I had a Supercap for the 282) for a couple of years.

The whole thing produced some great bass and the 24s were well suited in my room which can be tricky with a chimney breast in between.

I have no experience of the ATC 40s but in my room the PMCs saw off my Kudos C10s.

Ray

Posted on: 03 January 2019 by scubafink

My listening room is large and combined living area and dinning area. Total would be about 5m x 15m. 

The front speakers will also double in a home theatre 3.1 setup eventually using a matched centre speaker and sub. 

Posted on: 03 January 2019 by Simon-in-Suffolk

Hi - I have compared the smaller PMC 25 series with ATC SCM19v2 - both types are enjoyable. Indeed the TL of the PMCs adds something that the ATCs don't - but the latter tend to have a warmer lower mid - great for female voices.

However the issue and the decider for me was the PMC tweeter/tweeter configuration - it just doesn't compete to the ATC driver for detail and transparency. I like to listen to choral and ambient 'unplugged' recordings and the ATCs were way ahead. So much so I though there might be a fault - so I listened back at my dealers on their Statement system - and the effects were even more pronounced... (My system was 552DR / 250.2)