Maximize SQ on the XS Range without Deviating from the XS SQ Signature

Posted by: rrao on 04 January 2019

Hello everyone,

I am new to this forum although I have been enjoying Naim gear for a few years now.

I started my Naim journey from the XS series and now own the following units at present;

Naim XS2 ( early version – 2011)

CD5-XS

Flatcap XS

ND5-XS

XP5-XS

NAC-A5 Cables

All above housed in locally made AV rack with isolation spikes only at the bottom level.

Speakers ---Sonus Faber Luito FS / Yamaha Soavo-1 with SW / Yamaha NS1000M

Interconnects -- Atlas Equator

Power Conditioner – Furman Elite 16 PF Ei 

Power cables – Belden 19364 Audio Grade Cable from MCRU(UK)

My goal here is to maximize the XS SQ signature within the XS range. I don’t intend to add nDAC or other PS enhancements outside the XS range which is likely going to deviate from the original XS SQ signature which is warm and musically / emotionally engaging. I don’t want to deviate from that, I just want to maximize what I already have and enjoy.

I am looking forward to achieving my goal by adding the following;

Fraimlite to Fraim regular in steps

Naim Interconnections ( signal and power)

ATC Speakers (seems to be very popular with Naim users here)

The advice I am seeking from veteran Naim users is this -

What is the sequence I should follow to achieve my goal in order of priority. This will help me to plan my budgets for the upgrades.

Thanks,

Rajesh

Posted on: 04 January 2019 by Christopher_M

Hi Rajesh, Welcome to the forum with your wonderful XS set.

Did you buy your gear second hand? That is the only reason I can think of as to why you may not have the original 'lavender' interconnects (which are grey to my eye) and standard Naim power cables.