Hearing loss with age

Posted by: MangoMonkey on 13 January 2019

i read that men losing hearing in the upper frequency as they age, and women in the lower frequencies.

(and there’s a joke in there as well - marital harmony since they can finally not hear each other).

so - is it more of a the higher frequencies being attenuated - as in harder to hear, or is it like a high pass filter.

if former, could explain the market for super bright speakers. If latter, could explain the market for speakers like harbeth - no bass or treble...

Posted on: 14 January 2019 by Svetty

It is the higher frequencies in both sexes that are generally the issue for both age related and noise exposure hearing loss. The ability to discriminate between different sound sources is also impaired. I'm no expert - perhaps a resident ENT consultant could expand on this?

Posted on: 14 January 2019 by Ardbeg10y

It is quite unimportant IMO. My wife and I have done a hearing test. We both score average for our age. She's significantly younger than I am (7 years younger, I'm 40), she does hear much higher frequencies than I do. Despite this difference, I do hear much more. Why? My brain simply works different. She wants my brain, I want her brain.

It must be a bit like Dacs. You feed them with the same data, but something different comes out of it.

I have always been surprised by elderly conductors. They must hear half of what I do, but they still track a full orchestra and even individual voices.

Posted on: 14 January 2019 by Rich 1