Recording studios - why can recordings made in the e.g. 1960s sound good in 2011?

I apologise for the title, but I couldn't think of anything more appropriate to capture my query.

You see, I noticed many artists of several different genres releasing material that was originally recorced by perhaps an orchestra in the 1960s or even the standard guitar, bass, vocals.... but they are still released as remasters in 2011.  So the question I have is based on the fact that it appears oxymoronic (if that is a word) as surely the technology back then didn't capture the sound as well.  Surely so much distortion emerges and frequencies captured are narrow.  Sorry for the lack of technical terms.

Can anyone explain this?  Is it along the similar lines to how World War I was filmed in colour but that couldn't be played back until technology existed to play it?

Regards,

Jon

Don't spoil what you have with what you wish for!

Original Post

Jon,

I am no expert, and more knowledgable forum members may correct me, but I would guess that recording technology back then was somewhat better than replay technology, so that the full benefit of what was captured could not be realised until fairly recently. Some old recordings can indeed sound surprisingly good, and some modern ones can sound dire! Of course with modern re-mastering software older recordings can be tinkered with by an engineer to make them sound even better. In more general terms, I think we all over-estimate somewhat just how far recording and hi-fi reproduction has progressed over the years. Some early hi-fi set-ups can still sound pretty convincing even by today's standards.

Peter