Synergistic Research Plug Fuse

Mu-So is a great little box but I’m not being facetious when I say that it doesn’t really do most of what the SR fuse will enhance. You’re probably better off spending your money on enhancing your network connection. For example, if you use a standard ISP provided router, buy yourself a better quality router and use the ISP unit in modem mode.  

The biggest SQ difference I achieved  with my Mu-So was using a streaming app in Native mode vs via Bluetooth or AirPlay.  Also, placing the Mu-So in a room corner and switching on ‘near wall mode’ will really help you achieve articulate bass. 

Brian H posted:

I am new to the world of Naim ownership and enjoyment having bought a MU-so qB last week. Not sure if it is burning in or I am getting used to it and trying various options.

As the MU-so is a figure 8 mains cable there is no Naim option to enhance the mains cabling. Do any of the fuse hearers think a SR fuse is likely to offer an audible change in the MU-so world? I am not rushing to try one as they are about 20% of the cost of the MU-so but in time curiosity might surface, lotto may surprise. I must confess that my knowledge of Physics stops at A level but I would be struggling to explain how a fuse could affect the sound. I have always been sceptical of magic.

An interesting thread nevertheless

For the price of a SR fuse you can get the excellent Nordost Purple Flare figure 8 mains cable.  Will tidy up the sound and looks great if using the Muso in a high eye traffic area.

I was experimenting with my muso QB a while back by swapping around the position of the figure 8 connector, hard to tell but I think it did sound slightly better one way than the other, unfortunately it was kids coming home from school time, which ended my quiet listening session and I’ve never tried it again, I might have another try with my big muso in another room.