What's your favourite perfume scents?

Kevin-W posted:

I've always loved this as a men's fragrance:

Guerlain reformulated it slightly about 15 years ago, and it has perhaps lost a little of its citrusy, smoky punch, it's still spot on.

There's quite a nice story about how I came by this scent. Back in the 1990s I was interviewing Marianne Faithfull for some magazine/paper or other. Despite both of us chainsmoking, she smelled rather divine.

After the interview was finished, I asked her what it was.

"Darling," she said in that husky, fag-ravaged voice of hers. "It's by Jean Paul Guerlain. It's a men's fragrance called 'Red Jacket' and I've been using it since the 1960s." She pulled a bottle out of her bag and sprayed my wrists with it.

"Catching, isn't it?" she said. 

She was right, as I've been using it ever since.

A great story. Since the discovery of Jicky I have been exploring the rest of Guerlain. My mom loved Mitsuko. I wasn't too keen on those strong Oriental/incense laced Shalimar altho love the butterfly bottle with a blue stopper. My In-law's grand ma when she passed away I saw the very old bottle of it on her dresser.

You got me curious on Habit Rouge. Looking at its ingredients, I reckon it's pretty spicy but I bet interesting. 

1. Top Notes
  2. Heart Notes
  3. Base notes
kuma posted:
pete T15 posted:

My favourite by a mile .

1. Top Notes
  2. Heart Notes
  3. Base notes

Simple but might be good. I might try this.

This one really depends on the your own natural oily scent and it helps if you have a Mediterranean diet. On me, I ponged like an old ladies handbag.

https://fimgs.net/images/secundar/o.42406.jpg

I eat a lot of spicy food, and find that subtle spicy scents suit me.

loving this one.  I'm not a fan of those scents that lets everyone else in the room know that I've just entered. I prefere ones that just lets me and those that come in close contact know that I'm clean and fresh.

Christopher_M posted:
Kevin-W posted: