AV1 processor

Posted by: Richard Adams on 24 August 2005

I am new to home cinema so please be gentle with me if my questions are a bit stupid.

I have just got my hifi sorted out and would now like to make a start on an AV system. I don't watch too many DVDs so don't want to spend too much money. I currently have all Naim hifi and an Arcam 79 DVD player. I currently use SBL speakers and have a spare set of IBLs that I was thinking of using as rear speakers.

My dealer has 2nd hand AV1 for sale at £250. I can also pick up NAPV 175 for £800. I know I will need centre speaker but currently can't afford Naim speaker so will pick up cheap "make-do" model until funds permit. Eventually I will get AV2 (presumably AV3 by the time I can afford it) and possibly DVD5.

Is this a stupid way of doing things? Is AV1 obsolete? Are there modes/functions on AV1 that I am likely to need when watching DVDs? Would i be just better off getting arcam av amp?

Rest of system is CDS3/252/300/SBLs

Richard
Posted on: 24 August 2005 by David Dever
The AV1 will not provide center-channel signals, nor will it decode digital bitstreams. It works well as an "ambience" processor, but is not as well-suited to current AV requirements (digital inputs, AV system controller options) as the newer AV2.
Posted on: 24 August 2005 by Mr Perceptive
Richard

I would give the AV1 a miss, as David says its not really up to the job, I would suggest any of the following:-

s/h Yamaha DSP-E800 although not the latest and greatest works very well in Naim systems, includes power amp for centre and rears. Expect to pay £80-£120

s/h Arcam AVR200, full AV amplifier Expect to pay around £350 - note I have one of these and in a friends Naim system the Arcam remote also drove his NAC52 meaning that we had to block off the NAC52 remote receiver (his unit had no inity gain input)

Arcam AVR300 s/h £800ish new £1100+ Current generation model, more powerful amplifier than the AVR200