Best Naim Amp for Slim Transporter

Posted by: DaveBk on 11 August 2008

Hi all,

I've been using a NAC112/NAP150 combo for about 6 years, but have a bad case of upgraditis coming on. My only source is now a Slim Devices Transporter which offers fantastic sound with all the convenience of a network player. All my CDs are ripped in FLAC format onto a 1Tb of RAID5 NAS.

My current preferred option is to drive a NAP250 direct without a preamp - the Transporter output stage has switched attenuators so I should be able to get the line level right.

The alternative option would be to downgrade the amp to a NAP200 and pair it up with a NAC202 although the preamp seems unnecessary to me unless you beleive the 'magic' some people belive the Naim preamps add to the equation.

Is anyone out there using the Transporter with Naim amps? What works best?

I'm currently driving a pair or Monitor Audio Silver RS6's, but may well upgrade these as well in a year or so, but I'm happy with the sound and other reviews of these speakers confirm they punch their weight against far more expensive competition.

Thanks in anticipation!
Posted on: 11 August 2008 by JY
Just curious, have you tried connecting the Transporter to the amp directly to try it out?
Posted on: 11 August 2008 by pcstockton
quote:
Originally posted by DaveBk:

The alternative option would be to downgrade the amp to a NAP200 and pair it up with a NAC202 although the preamp seems unnecessary to me

That is a downgrade????

Preamp unnecessary?

Two VERY strange comments.

I dont know everything about the Transporter, but I would bet the farm that its "pre-amp" section is going to be extremely inferior to what you already have in the 112x.

The move to a 202/200 should be a very good one, especially seeing that you didn't mention price as a factor.

I imagine a 202/NAPSC/200 combo using the Transporter's internal DAC, and its analog outputs would be a formidable combination.
Posted on: 11 August 2008 by connon price