Decent DVD/Blueray player?

Posted by: Sneaky SNAIC on 30 June 2015

Total noob in AV, not really into it, but want to have a good experience...my son wants to watch some DVDs, which is something we do *very* rarely since they are in college.  However, we do have some good old DVD of concerts, etc.  Seems like I should go with a blue ray player, but my question is which one and how would I pipe the sound into my DAC as easily as  possible? 

The newer ones seem to have a Network cable though, I didn't see optical out on most of them. Most of course have an HDMI out...my TV has an optical out which I use now, but it seems smarter to go from the player directly?

Again its a rare occurrence and I want to stay around $100ish

Posted on: 30 June 2015 by Erich

Sneaky,  I also have some good concertos in DVD, Blu-ray and didn't want to spend a lot to enjoy them.

I bought a sony blu-ray player and connected it to the TV using HDMI and then the TV to the UQ2  via toslink.

(My second rig is just UQ2, PMC21's, USB devices, TV and B-R player)

Regards.

Erich

Sneaky, is no big thing but my wife and I enjoy not only the DVD's and BR's but also TV with better SQ.

Regards.

Erich

Posted on: 30 June 2015 by Sneaky SNAIC
Originally Posted by Erich:

Sneaky,  I also have some good concertos in DVD, Blu-ray and didn't want to spend a lot to enjoy them.

I bought a sony blu-ray player and connected it to the TV using HDMI and then the TV to the UQ2  via toslink.

Yes I can do that as well...but is there a way to take the audio from the player, what happens to the audio when it goes into the TV and out of the optical?

Sneaky, Of course the signal is processed by the TV. I will check if the B-R player has a digital out.

Regards.

Erich

Sneaky, My son has a Play Station doing this. Do you?

Regards.

Erich

Sorry, I can't check the B-R player until tomorrow (may be it also has a digital out). Great son sleeping in that room now.

Regards.

Erich