Jazz tips?

Posted by: Bob the Builder on 26 March 2018

I am awaiting the arrival of a used 2TB Liv Zen CD Ripper/Streamer which is basically an Innous Zen Mk1. It is apparently idiot proof but I have been known to be an idiot at times so wondered if anyone has any tips regarding software and ripping in general, I believe it uses the Logitech Media Server to stream Tidal etc but will I need a seperate programme to handle metadata?

My intension is to  build an extensive Jazz library by taking advantage of the very cheap CD's available but I am a bit of a newbie when it come to Jazz CD's for instance are there labels to avoid like  DOL and Doxy who turn out Cheap Jazz vinyl reissues that are just terrible.

Posted on: 26 March 2018 by audio1946

meta data will be a problem with these cheap box sets.  always clean old cds with marks etc, micro cloths are good for this

Posted on: 27 March 2018 by SamS
Bob the Builder posted:

My intension is to  build an extensive Jazz library by taking advantage of the very cheap CD's available but I am a bit of a newbie when it come to Jazz CD's for instance are there labels to avoid like  DOL and Doxy who turn out Cheap Jazz vinyl reissues that are just terrible.

Yes, by all means avoid those that you mention and many other nameless 'Made in EU' clones.

Best to stick with known labels which will be evident on the box - Columbia, Atlantic, Verve etc., and usually Sony or Universal as the current behemoths. They will be a bit more expensive than the EU clones but worth it.

No better place to start than here: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Perfe...QL70_&dpSrc=srch

Or here: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Heavy...QL70_&dpSrc=srch

Or you could of course just stream from Spotify etc., and save quite a bit of time while discovering.

Posted on: 27 March 2018 by Dozey

Use a unitiserve ...

Posted on: 27 March 2018 by Richard Dane